Book Review: Flight Behavior

blog_flightkingsolverSome authors evoke in me a longing for nurturing. As I read, I want to crawl into their laps and hear them tell me their story while rubbing the silky end of a blanket, never mind that I am a full-grown adult. Barbara Kingsolver is one of these “moms” whose works can both soothe and sharpen this craving. I steel myself from being too drawn in, but her books pry and tug until I sigh and open my heart and soul knowing they are in wise, safe hands and bound to
get a good scrubbing. Flight Behavior is about the collision of a rural woman’s life with a freak monarch butterfly migration. Themes of buried potential, metamorphosis, and disintegration along with their catalysts, make for a thought-provoking, thoroughly human reading experience.

blog_monarch

~Librarian Robin

Leave a comment